The Lost Prince (part 10)

SIX

So much for picking my battles. But I thought this one was worth fighting.

What are they thinking, sending him out into the world like that? I know the mission itself is just busywork. Nobody expects him to do anything useful, they just want him out from under their feet. But they haven’t thought it through. He may not have any actual authority, but the kingdoms he’s visiting won’t know that. I shudder to think how many diplomatic incidents he’ll cause.

Or maybe that’s the plan. Let himself get locked up far away for his personal excesses. Make a token protest while counting your lucky stars that he’s someone else’s problem now. Let someone else do the dirty work and keep your own hands clean.

We all know how well that worked out last time.

I begged them not to send him on this mission. I even volunteered to go in his place, but they just rolled their eyes. That made me argue harder, which made them more exasperated…

In the end I guess they thought I was having a breakdown again. In hindsight, I can see why they would think that. From the outside, it can be hard to distinguish between passionate and crazy.

All things considered, maybe I should have chosen another battle.

So while he’s off travelling the world, I’m locked away where I can’t annoy them. Out of sight, out of mind. Just the way they like it.

I just hope he doesn’t ruin us all before I get another chance to prevent it.


<Previous [Home] Next>
Leave a Reply

