The Lost Prince (part 13)

So here we are, fleeing across the waves as fast as the wind will carry us. Her husband must have returned by now to find his bed empty, but I don’t know it that was days or weeks after we left. I keep looking for sails behind us, but so far so good. Maybe we’re far enough ahead to lose him. Maybe he won’t try to follow us. Maybe he was as tired of her as she was of him. I can’t imagine how that would be possible, but then I can’t imagine going on a trip while leaving a woman like that at home. Who knows?

I just hope I haven’t screwed up my longer-term plans. On the one hand, a certain amount of trouble is bound to follow. On the other hand, it may be too little to do any real damage to my enemies back home. An act this rash and impulsive may cement my reputation as someone not to be taken seriously. Then again, it might just be enough to seem dangerously incompetent. I don’t need that kind of attention either. And the king may never again trust me with the responsibility that leads to real power.

This trip has been fun, but it will be over soon. There’s a palace full of rivals waiting for me at the end of the voyage, and they’re not going to destroy themselves. I need to get my head back in the game.

Then again, there’s a beautiful woman waiting to thank me for rescuing her, right on this ship. It would be rude to keep her waiting.

I wouldn’t want to be rude.


<Previous [Home] Next>
Leave a Reply

